/_____-__ //
Sorry, your browser does not support inline SVG.

are trader joe’s joe’s o’s vegan?

20 May 2009 _ 09h24m23 EDT
related content: ,

~ this unhappy news might be interesting to our vegan friends. trader joe’s joe’s o’s cereal is not vegan.

there is more than one origin for the vitamin d that is frequently added to humans’ processed foods. vitamin d2 is vegan, as it is derived from fungal growth or yeast; on the other hand, vitamin d3 , (sometimes listed in ingredients as cholecalciferol) is derived from lanolin through washing sheep’s wool. both of the ideas are crazy; what mad scientist was able to convince people that processed breakfast cereal would be improved by rinsing it with wool? in any event, d2 often is in soymilk brands like silk and organic valley, while d3 is added to fortified breakfast cereals such as cheerios, all-bran, grape-nuts, cascadian farm’s organic purely o’s, and especially—to the point of this post—trader joe’s joe’s o’s:

Hi Kim,

Our Trader Joe’s Joe’s O’s are not Vegan due to the Vitamin D being derived from sheep.

Thank you,

Nicki K.
Customer Relations
Trader Joe’s

—–Original Message—–
To: Web Customer Relations
Subject: Trader Joe’s Product Information Form

Name: Kim Matott
Product Name: Joe’s O’s cereal

Comments: Hello, I am trying to determine whether there are any animal
ingredients in your Joe’s O’s cereal product. Many cereals have a
Vitamin D (D3) that is derived from sheep. Can you tell me the source
of your Vitamin D? Thank you!

related content: ,

'eric' responds:

sucks. i was about to smash an entire box of these :(

'Welcome to Wednesday « Vegannifer!' responds:

[…] that was a delicious alternative to my typical bowl of cereal, which, horribly, I just learned is NOT VEGAN! First Panera Bread bagels have in them an ingredient derived from duck feathers and now this!  […]

public response: